Impala Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've cruised through here for years reading and hoping to learn. I'm a lifelong driveway mechanic. Started learning at 13 and I'm now retired at 66. You do the math. All my cars and bikes are well maintained by me. But the info here always leaves me wanting.

Every repair I've done on my 2010 Impala LT Vin-k has been successful because I have background over generations. I'm mostly tooled-up. I like to fix my own cars and bikes. I like to fix them for neighbors and other friends. It's a social event. They all look and run great. But for my Impala this place is no help.

I'm only posting now because I'm astounded that this forum can mostly be so wrong or short-sighted and still be here. There is ONE thread (which happens to be about accessing the trunk without battery power) that is on target. No others I've read are fully correct, they are generic and lead people down a path toward failure. And I've been referencing here since I bought my Impala new in 2010. Even the oil change info was wrong.

This place is obviously geared toward post count and visitor numbers. Not toward actual accuracy. There is no accuracy moderation. Just a few wanna be kings who say things they hope are accurate.

Go ahead and throw your stones. I'm only posting because I've had enough. I want to change oil pan gaskets and similar. I'm greasy under the motor. This time NOTHING I read here is right. Why am I surprised? I always look for the good in people. Bad idea here.

Say what you want. I have NEVER posted like this before. Anywhere. Never. You can take it as a call to action to do good work here. Or you can nay-nay and continue doing nothing. I don't care.

Maybe five of you will see this before cheesy short sighted blind moderators see it and zap it. Not my problem.

You could get better advice off a cereal box.

·
Registered
299 Posts
You have to sort the wheat from the chaff.