Impala Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time posting although I have read alot of great information on here. First, I am no mechanic by no means. I need some help with my Impala.

I have a 2008 Chevy Impala SS 5.3L V8 engine. I bought the car used and know it wasn't well taken care of.

Anyway, these are my issues.
1)I have a coolant leak. When it was pressure tested, there was steam coming out where the water pump is. I haven't had the water pump replaced yet, but have a new water pump, thermostat, and temperature sensor to see if it helps. I had a message which sense went away, Engine Hot/AC Off with the code PO128 hence the thermostat and temperature sensor.
Sometimes I have no heat and other times I got more than enough.
2) Broken Sway Bar which to my understanding is a common problem with this car. I had it welded as a temporary fix when I had a new cat put in because the PO420 code kept coming off and on. Last night, I got the code again so not sure what is going on there.
3) Tranny Problem Possible. Sometimes it will slip or shift hard. The tranny fluid smells burnt. The throttle body was cleaned and tightened up like it should have been in the beginning. It has helped the transmission some and has stopped the hard shift and slip to where it doesn't do it as often.
4) Service Traction Control, Brake Assist, and Stabitrak message with yellow ABS light with the
Code C0040-0F and Code C0040-00.