Impala Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
aka IMPALER
3,174 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys! I'm looking for some tips on how to make my beaSSt ready for the track. Right now i'm looking into cross drilled and slotted rotors and stainless steel brake lines, as stated in my current project thread "One Last Hurrah for the Summer". However, i'm looking to get it track ready. I'm not touching the motor for this, i'm more interested in what it would take to get the suspension ready. I'm not a big fan of the idea of replacing my springs right now, but if that's what it takes then what would the best "track spring" be? I'd rather not sacrifice the ride TOO much, but a little bit is just fine :eek:k3:. I'm also a college student, so i'd like to spend the least amount of money possible... I know that this may be a pipe dream for the next few years but i'd like to get some kind of idea on what it would take.

Thanks for your help! :beer:

·
Banned
2,492 Posts
the biggest damn sway bars you can find if not changing springs that's for sure! Nice wide sticky tires too...you doing drag racing or road racing??? guess that should be asked first...

·
Super Moderator
3,946 Posts
Actually the serious guys have found that the "biggest available" rear bar is too stiff, like stiff enough that good tires will allow you to lift the inside rear tire.

drilled rotors is a BAD thing especially on a car like this where the rotors are already marginally too small and lite.

Far as springs "stock" or performance is pretty much moot as it would be 15yo vs performance.

Far as cheap I would put poly on the front bar, a set of UMI rear lower control arms, maybe Bilstein sport shocks, easy way to look them up is 80s cop car.

Then do some digging on a more aggressive pad that likes heat.

·
aka IMPALER
3,174 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
drilled rotors is a BAD thing especially on a car like this where the rotors are already marginally too small and lite.