Impala Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello guys, this is my first post on the forums, and unfortunately it isn't a pleasant one. A little backstory on me and the situation that brings me here. I am a locksmith and this isn't my first dance with Chevy Vats, Passlock and Passlock 2 systems, but it just so happens that this time, on my own vehicle I am having the most trouble. I have a 2004 Chevy Impala former police vehicle that my roommate gave to me when it broke down. It's been a while since he had it but if I recall the car became increasingly difficult to get to turn over, he had to do the 10 minute wait more and more frequently until the car simply would not start anymore. He went off to be a trucker and was going to scrap the car to not have to worry about it and I convinced him to give it to me because I love this thing and don't want to see it go to the scrapper.

I started by doing all the things I knew he had done. 30 minute relearn procedure a multitude of times. New Ignition Switch. New Ignition Cylinder Keyed to original key (new factory originated key, not a worn copy) inside original cylinder housing, 30 minute relearn. The new ignition cylinder in new housing, 30 minute relearn. None of this worked. So I let it sit for months and months until I decided I wanted to get it going.