Impala Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. Newbie here. I used “newest generation” since I see on some posts there’s a debate on 9th or 10th generation. Anyway, I have a 2015 2LT built in late 2014 so very beginning of the latest generation. I’m wondering if I can do a self service transmission fluid change on this one because I’ve not seen a transmission drain plug when underneath changing the oil. I’ve only done a trans change on my Honda Odyssey which has an easy magnetic drain plug. So can this be done, if so, how? These models also do not have a radiator cap so is a self service coolant change possible either? The manual says I believe 120,000 miles or 5 years on that. I’m only about 61,000 but I am at the 5 year mark. Would appreciate thoughts on these and if doing a transmission fluid change should I change filter, etc? Fluid seems to have dropped off rather quickly. It was nice and pink like a month ago and for quite some time leading up to that but suddenly more brownish. I do live in hot Florida but the vehicle doesn’t get nearly as much use as the Honda family bruiser. Especially with me not working much due to COVID. The Impala is MY baby. My low cost luxury car. 👍 Such a great riding car. Can’t believe they’re not going to make them anymore. 😤 Thanks for any input.

·
Registered
2,750 Posts
^ Which engine? Probably "yes" to both questions. Diy for both services can be done in under an hour. No jacking/lifting the car and no filters needed.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
2LT is the 3.6L V6, 1LT was the 4 cylinder in the LT trim that year then I think the simplified it to just LS, LT, and LTZ. Anyway, it’s the 3.6L Flex Fuel.

·
Registered
2,750 Posts