Impala Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
UPDATE- Maybe I WAS wishing for too much too soon, but it was ok to dream, huh?

Hello-I'm a newbie here-so I ask you to be patient with someone who knows very little about newer cars. I have a chance to purchase a 1996 Impala SS with very low miles-and what can you tell me to look for/look out for in a low mileage SS? (Trouble areas).

AND-I have a general idea what I'd like to accomplish with this car if/when I can purchase it. Please give me realistic/not mean input and suggestions about my ideas because I need help seeing whether or not it's feasible.

Upgrading the LT1 with a supercharger-I'd like to acheive(if possible) a mid to low 11? second 1/4 mile beast that's still streetable.
Should the tranny be rebuilt or replaced if I'm looking for a 400-500rwhp ? I do happen to see where there's problems/issues with the stock unit-but have no idea on where to go/what tranny set-up is darn near indestructible..

Have a cat-back system-headers-hotter spark set-up-K&N(or similar) air intake system installed-replace the shocks and sway bars-improve the suspension any way that is better than stock. up-grade the brakes. hotter cam?/new heads?/intake manifold?

I'd like it to look like a stock SS as much as possible-what are the largest and widest rims that I can put on a SS to handle the upgrade in HP? It seems reasonable that more HP means larger and wider tires? What sounds good here-or just a pipedream? I need the help of people who know SS's inside and out. Right now I don't even know if the car is in good shape overall-or if the guy sold it since the last time I saw it....

·
Super Moderator
7,057 Posts
Hello and welcome to the community. You may get some funny answers but you will get resonable and helpfull answers to your questions.