Impala Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I'm a newbie to this orum (obviously).... I own a 1996 SS Impala (the greenish one)...and its my goal to restore this puppy.. I'm planning on getting a new engine but don't know what's available or what's possible.. (any ideas??) Also in the mean time I have an issue that might expedite getting a new engine in that my 'engine oil drip' light comes on after sitting at too many stop lights/signs/heavy traffic bumper to bumper style. Its like sitting idle with brakes on ..RPMs sit around 500-650 and the light will slowly, gradually flicker on 'till solid.. Temperature gauge will go past half marker and cool off back and forth durin the time the oil drip light begins its complaining. Any time I step on the gas or even foot off the break while in drive.. the light goes out.. as if the oil pressure resumes to normal. Then after driving again for a good stretch the engine seems to cool and 'then' at any further stop light, sign, etc... I don't seem to have the problem.. that is unless I'm sitting idle for too long. I also allowed the car to sit in drive idle (foot on brake) 'till the light was solid..then I put it in park or neutral (in which the light goes out)..and when I waited long enough the light eventually flickered to solid while in these states (park/neutral)..At that point I had to shut off the engine 'till things cooled down.... I was told this problem is because the bearings in the crankshaft or in the engine block (??) are wearing and the oil is seaping out the bearings causing pressure to be lost. I was told to thicken the grade of oil from 5w30 to 10w40. Right now I chose 10w30... (in the middle) and it seemed to help a little.. I'm going to reach 10w40 at the next oil change to see what happens... but if anyone can shed some light on this behavior I would be most grateful. I was looking to find a way to start a new post but couldn't .. so hopefully someone will see this.