Impala Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought the car just over a month ago from a dealer in Brooklyn, NY that buys directly from the departments around the city. I picked it up with 55,000 miles on it. I've never owned anything this "new" before, let alone any thing that still has a warranty. Also the dealer mentioned something about a recall for the knuckles, as a noob I don't really understand but does it mean it's Chevy's responsibility to pay for the repair? Also can I take it to any Chevy dealership? I've been reading some of your posts and I've been worried about all the tranny issues you guys have been posting. I didn't do a lot of research before purchasing and I hope it doesn't bite me in the butt.

Either way I love the car so far, drives great, the plastic interior and rubber/foam floor mat doesn't bother me. It has a lot more power than my old 2002 Cavalier.

·
Registered
258 Posts
OH SNAP! Brooklyn, NY? haha. Nice Car. I'm surprised it wasn't tinted. If there's a recall for the knuckles its Chevy's responsibility and make sure its not expired...

·
Registered
45 Posts
Welcome ! Nice car :eek:k3:

·
Back in Black
4,127 Posts
Welcome looks good

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thanks guys, I'm not sure how the maintenance is on these vehicles but I took the chance. When I went to look at the car I noticed the plastic engine cover was missing. I took it for a spin and the engine sounds great and it shifts super smooth. So I wasn't really worried about it.

·
Registered
455 Posts
There is a recall on the lower control arm, part of the front suspension, that can suddenly fracture which results in changing the handling of the vehicle and could result in a crash. 2008-2012 models affected. I am not sure how you find out if yours is affected. Here is a link to the article,

GM recalls 38,000 Chevrolet Impala police cars