Impala Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok i know my name suggest i have a 406 but i dont yet, im wondering what all would be involved in swapping a 406cid dart block into my 94??? any help would be great, im sure its probally simple b/c its a small block so it should just drop right in, what about the oil pan, can i just use a stock oil pan, so many questions so little time?:confused::confused: thanks

--daniel

G

·
You have a ton of work ahead of you... which dart block were you thinking of starting with? Do they have an LT1 based block? Do you have a link?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i think its a dart little m block, but im not sure, no it has absolutly nothing to do with any LT1 lol, im thinking i could just swap motor mounts and find a front acc. drive and such. im a tech at a local dealership but ive never done one of these so im lost??? i plan on running a F.A.S.T XFI intake system. most chevrolet small blocks are, for the most part, are easy to swap out but again, ive never done this swap before soooooo..............yeah

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
yeah the site sucks lol, is that a manual, i think i just want an automatic, i know that t-400 will hold up. what ever tranny i use it will have to hold up a 4200lbs car with 800 horse, so i need something great!

·
Registered
140 Posts
Why not stick with the LT1?

Build a stroker shortblock, talk to AI about a heads/cam package, use the LT1 block and accessories and junk - a lot more straightforward swap.

And you can go 396 inches on an LT1 block for not HORRIBLY expensive.

Just my opinion.

·
Registered
1,556 Posts