1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Cheap Upgrades

My list of upgrades that I am likely to afford:

1. Chip:
My primary reason: Removing top speed limiter. Increasing MPG and HP.
My concerns: Damaging the engine, not getting expected results.
My question: What brand or retailer do you suggest, that will work with a 3.4 Impala, and won't cost an arm and a leg?

2. Cold Air Intake:
My primary reason: Improving MPG and HP.
My concerns: I heard from a mechanic that it will damage my engine. I doubt it that I can install it myself, especially if its complicated, as I have no experience working on engines.
Question: Is what he said true? What can I find for cheap? Whats the easiest way to go? I've heard of 'drop in filters', is that easier to do?

3. Flowmasters exhausts / Mufflers:
My primary reason: Sound, improving HP and maybe MPG.
My concerns: Getting one that doesn't fit.
Question: What range cars are able to use the same set of exhausts as mine? Can I install them by myself or do I need a mechanic for that? Do I go for a whole system or just a muffler would make a good enough of a difference?

So yeah...that was the easiest way to put it. As you can see I got a lotta questions that I had to categorize them. In case you're wondering what's up with my weirdass way of asking. :p

The car is a 2003 Impala 3.4liter. 97,6xx miles on it. Bone stock. As an 'economically challenged' (aka - broke) college student I'm looking for the best bang for the buck. I have high hopes and no money, the cheapest way to go will be the first thing I'll do.

·
Registered
358 Posts

1. Chip:
My question: What brand or retailer do you suggest, that will work with a 3.4 Impala, and won't cost an arm and a leg?

2. Cold Air Intake:
My concerns: I heard from a mechanic that it will damage my engine. I doubt it that I can install it myself, especially if its complicated, as I have no experience working on engines.