Impala Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so I just got this car this past Saturday, I am new to Chevys and the Belair its self. I have always wanted one and I do a lot of work myself so I am pretty good at figuring stuff out. The said car is a 62 Belair with a 235 in it. Here is the thing, when I got the car the previous owner had the coil hardwired to the battery and would pull the battery cable off to cut the car. It had the black wire from the volt reg going directly to the battery and a wire from the generator to the battery and to the ignition. The ignition is not hooked up to the coil for obvious reasons. They found it more expensive to replace the ignition rather then rig it up I guess. Anyways i put the coil on a toggle and took the black wire from the volt reg to the toggle to be able to kill the car from inside. I obviously did this to make it drivable and movable for the next few days.
I know it needs to be done right and I have every intention on doing so, but right now the generator is not charging the battery so yesterday it went dead. Do I need to put the black wire from the voltage reg back to the battery? Could that be why the battery is not charging? Also how can I wire it up to an ignition switch again? Does anyone know why the would wire the generator directly to the ignition? Does all the current from the voltage reg go through that small black wire??? Please help with any input you may have. Thank you!

PS I am already looking at getting an EZ wiring kit for it, just deciding if I want to swap with a 350 or keep the original 235

·
Registered
24 Posts