Impala Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's the situation. I have a '95 Roadmaster Wagon with an LT-1 engine in it. Recently, I replaced the water pump and that project went smoothly. I also replaced the thermostat, radiator hoses, and heat sensor. But--- post installation, the engine got hot. I'd start it up, allow it to come to temperature, and would get a red "hot temp" indicator on the dash. The car runs smoothly. Now, I'm no pro mechanic, but I deo know enough to troubleshoot the basic issues. Here's what I've done so far.
> There are absolutely no leaks anywhere at the front of the engine. I spotted an extremely small drip at the top of the radiator and installed Stop Leak, which fixed that.​
> I bench-tested the new thermostat and it opens nicely. I even ran the engine with no thermostat and it still gets hot.​
> I have "burped" the cooling system multiple times and have the front raised. I had the heater on to keep trapped air from that system from intruding into the main cooling channels.​
> There is no water in the oil nor water coming out of the exhaust (blown head gasket).​
So, with the coolant topped off and everything buttoned up, I start the engine and let it come to temp, which is about ten minutes. The electric fan comes on, and everything seems fine, but then I get the "hot" light and the gauge continues to rise. For the life of me, I can't figure out what's going on.

Someone give me another thing to check.

·
Registered
1,991 Posts
History or reason why you changed so many parts would be helpful.

Did you use an OEM ACDelco temperature sending unit (switch)? If not, you may have installed a defective unit - which may why you’re getting the warning.

When you get the hot warning, does the engine seem as though it is overheating? Is coolant being forced into the coolant reservoir?