Impala Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
294 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone using the left foot to brake? If so, what is your experience with? Its a good technique that helps reaction time and control in corners.

·
Registered
88 Posts
Problem is that you're not used to applying pressure with your left foot which can lead to unexpectedly braking too hard. Also, if you're hovering the brake pedal with your left foot you may actually be resting on it and applying the brakes without noticing.

I've also seen the argument that during a crash you smash your left foot instinctively to the floor to brace for an impact. If you're left foot braking (or hovering over it) you may, unintentionally, press both the gas with the right foot and brakes with the left foot as you brace for an impact.

I drive for a living and I don't see any benefits that would be worth "relearning" to brake. I doubt left foot braking would save me from a crash because I'd be saving what, half a second? Not to mention it would feel awkward as hell. Probably spend too much time consciously thinking about it and it may become a distraction.

What you may want to try is kind of resting your foot half on the gas pedal at an angle. This is mainly for when using cruise control. I'll try to explain what I do as best as I can. By the way, I transport patients and it's 80% interstate driving around Illinois, but mainly Chicago area.