Impala Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, newbie here, thanks in advance for your input !
Just got a 2005 3.4 L (3400) v6 base model Impala, 98,000km (60,000mi), 16" wheels, Canadian car. very clean, body and exterior immaculate. Mechanically I'd say it's in excellent shape.
But... the ride is like a boat... no feel of the road at all. Steering seems to be tight and good, no complaints there, but the ride is one I would describe as "floating and disconnected".
Question: What is the most economical and effective approach to making this a firmer and "more in contact with the road" feel, without lowering the car ?

I assume complete strut assemblies would be the place to start... but there seems to be a sea of options when I look online. Can you suggest a specific type ? Can you put police/taxi struts on these base models ? Any suggestions here would be appreciated !
Thanks kindly,

·
8th Gen Antagonist
13,660 Posts
Sounds like the struts are probably just shot, have you tried the bounce test? That's where you shove down on the bumper hard and fast and see how it rebounds, front and back. If it bounces, you need shocks/struts, if it pops back up and stays put, they are fine. If you need struts, look for a set of Monroe quickstruts, they come with springs pre-installed, so they are pretty easy to do.

·
Registered
314 Posts
Yep, they are pretty easy to do! I did mine last autumn. Make sure to get the correct Monroe quickstruts for the rear though. I bought a set that are discontinued now, because they have weaker springs on them. So they let the ride height down a bit. I have a thread on it in this forum.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
OK, thanks for the tips...
Doing the bounce test, with a qualified mechanic alongside, we found that the struts are getting a little "loose", and bounce a tad more than they should.