Impala Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Was driving to work and was making my way out onto the road out of a turn lane and my acted up again with the shaking and loss of power and no tachometer. Took it to my buddies shop to have him replace the crankshaft sensor. Hopefully this fixes it.
Car Vehicle Automotive lighting Hood Grille

·
Registered
2002 Impala 3.4L V6 LT FWD 248.5k miles (20SEP2022)
329 Posts
@Jake0811 : I don't know ... I'm no mechanic, but I thought the Crank Sensor was famous for a no-start condition, not driveability issues. And I also thought the ECM was smart enough to infer the CAM or CRANK position as long as it had one of them giving steady, reliable input?

Strangely enough, though ... my soon-to-be 20-year-old, 2002 Impala has also started shaking and chugging ... but just at startup. Very weak ... chug-chug-chug ... I don't give it the gas ... I just let it roll along slowly on it's own, and it comes out of it within about a block. Of course, my CEL has been ON for several years now due to the MAF code (P0102) that I never solved, but I need to check "underneath" to see if any more codes are 'joining the party'... LOL!

Reactions: Dill-O

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
@Jake0811 : I don't know ... I'm no mechanic, but I thought the Crank Sensor was famous for a no-start condition, not driveability issues. And I also thought the ECM was smart enough to infer the CAM or CRANK position as long as it had one of them giving steady, reliable input?