Impala Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What's up guy's,

I just bought a coil pack for my 03 Impala Ls, 3.8L, V6 and i would like to know is there anything i need to disconnect before and after installation:dunno:,Also.... What tools are needed to install my coil pack? This is my first time installing a coil pack and i really don't want to screw up the installation:cool:, I wanted to get some advice before i tackle the job....Thank's:eek:k3:

·
Registered
3,227 Posts
Disconnect the battery, remove the 2 plug wires (2 and 5) and then the 2 small (but long) bolts (they are 7/32 I believe). Then replace and reinstall the battery and you are good to go.

·
8th Gen Antagonist
13,660 Posts
It really is. Btw, 7mm on those bolts, but 7/32 will probably fit too. 7mm is a very common size on these cars for some reason...

·
Registered
3,227 Posts
Unfortunately for me my 7mm didn't fit. Could very well be rust or bolt corrosion though. 7/32 is a very odd size so 7mm is likely the normal one ;)

·
Mr. Handy
6,289 Posts
Yes its metric. I think everything on these cars are.

I also recommend applying a small dot of dielectric grease on the 2 prongs on the Ignition control module and also, the coil pack posts. This will help keep moisture out. It wouldn't be a bad idea to take the others off and apply to them as well. These coil pack posts are VERY prone to moisture and rusting. I can almost guarantee your front 3 or 4 pack posts are rusted :eek:k3: Clean them up with a wire brush or sandpaper and apply dielectric grease.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Dont forget to mark your wires as to not get them crossed. Also I recommend replacing all three at the same time if you got the funds. I had to use a 7/32nd as well to remove mine.

·
Registered
432 Posts
5.5 mm socket remove two plugs wire, done. Install in reverse order. Use a coil pack from a supercharged car for better spark.

·
Mr. Handy
6,289 Posts