Impala Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My Impalas build date for the car is march 16,1965 and the motor is March 20,1965 was it common for the cars to be built before the motor. The numbers match on the car and the motor.

·
Still Plays with Cars
282 Posts
Motors were built a couple of weeks befor going to the car asslembly plant to be installed. Asslembled cars did not sit around waiting for engines to be built. If your car was built on March 16 it had a engine in it at that time. A March 20 engine could not have been factory installed.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Interesting. The block is stamped wirh the last digits of the car vin then T0320Iv. The build sheet in the car dates march 16 1965. Any additional thoughts. Thanks in advance

·
Registered
285 Posts
Build date

I am by no means an expert on production times. Don't claim to be. I would agree that most engines are built prior to the body/chasis time. However, there are too many examples of hold overs, special orders, and like mine, strikes at certain plants ( 1965 ) that could easily explain the 4 day difference between the motor and the car. Remember, cars use to be able to be ordered from the dealer, not just purchased what was on the lot, many were in fact ordered to customer specs not GM'S production line. Now I am not saying anything is right or wrong here. I just think that if the block is stamped with the VIN, chances are there is an explaination for it and it is most likely genuine. That being said, lets look further without predijudice. Like I tell everyone. I cannot PROVE ( Yet ) my 65 impala is a factory 409 car, however there is no-one yet that can PROVE it is not. It has everything the car should have per everything a 65 409 impala should have, however I have not done a title search for the original owner or second, and chevrolet doesn't keep records like Pontiac did, so who is to say? I am researching it though. Even with my car a