Impala Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
hi everyone :)
I have a battery draining problem on my 2007 impala.
By measuring voltage drop across fuses,, i determined the 10amp bcm fused circuit is problem.
Measures .6mv across fuse ,,, according to charts drawing around 75ma constantly.
??? any electrical experts on forum have any idea where my problem may be ?????
thanks for your help

·
Registered
2,699 Posts
hi everyone :)
I'm have a battery draining problem on my 2007 impala.
By measuring voltage drop across fuses,, i determined the 10amp bcm fused circuit is problem.
Measures .6mv across fuse ,,, according to charts drawing around 75ma constantly.
??? any electrical experts on forum have any idea where my problem may be ?????
thanks for your help
I'm not an expert on BCMs, but I know there are several inputs to it which can keep it awake thereby causing the high current draw.

When it goes into the standby mode, the current should be much lower. One thing that can keep it from going into standby is the ignition switch.

Is the key getting turned fully off when removed? Old lock cylinders will allow the key to be pulled out without rotating the cylinder all the way to off. I've seen dead batteries caused by that. So be sure the cylinder gets rotated all the way to the left.

There are other inputs to the BCM that might also keep it from getting to standby, but they will normally show up in the instrument cluster. For example: door ajar or trunk open or hood open. Do you have any indicators like these?

Doug

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
excellent ,,, will check ignition switch carefully,, thanks Doug :)
if that checks OK not problem,,, any other advice ?? ,,, no warning lights on dash (door ajar etc).

·
Registered
35 Posts