Impala Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts
A

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How fast are they? Do they handle well? How fast have you gone? If i could get one in decent shape, 100,000 miles and a new paint job for $2000 would that be a good deal?

I

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
for how big they are they are decently fast and have about 260hp. Stock they run a low 15 in the 1/4 mile which is faster than 80% of the rice mobiles on the road so it makes a good sleeper.

I

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
for how big they are they are decently fast and have about 260hp. Stock they run a low 15 in the 1/4 mile which is faster than 80% of the rice mobiles on the road so it makes a good sleeper.

I

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
im a cop in jersey i wouldent buy any old cop cars we beat the living shit out of em

·
Registered
58 Posts
......If i could get one in decent shape, 100,000 miles and a new paint job for $2000 would that be a good deal?
Yes.....that's a pretty good deal.

If in your position (and I was about 4 years back) I'd buy it and keep a couple grand on-hand for when the tranny blows.

I'd also install some new valve springs (Crane 10309-16) and maybe even some roller tipped rockers (Comp Cams Magnum, 1.6 self aligned).

KW

·
Registered
102 Posts
Hell yes! That is a good deal. 94-96 9C1's can be fun to drive and cheap to mod, that's if you don't get to crazy with it.

On open highway I've taken my 9C1 to about 140 mph. I heard of some people re-tuning their ECM to 160 mph. And, 5 years back some guy in Germany put twin-turbos on and went past 200 mph.

Was this 9C1 a regular-uty cop car or was it a light-duty car. Since, regular-duty cop cars are always ragged out, while 9C1's that saw light-duty even with 100,000 miles or over are still pretty fresh engines.

Good luck with your new endeaver:biggrin:

·
Registered
58 Posts
.....Not to get off track, but KW, what about those springs and Crane Gold 1.6 RR's.....