Impala Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm sure my '96 Roadie with the factory towing package has the original limited slip diff. Seems it's only spinning it's right wheel now. This wasn't a one time thing, todays Spring weather prompted me to show off with a smokey burnout. Only the right wheel was doing the burning:gaah:
I'm an auto body mech by trade, but my initial guess would be worn clutch.
Any info as to the answer is appreciated. She still drives fine with no undue noises or vibrations.

Steve

·
aka IMPALER
3,174 Posts
If it has an automatic transmission, then it doesn't have a clutch, but a torque converter. I'm not trying to nit-pick, so much as point out a bigger difference. A torque converter is driven with viscous fluid, whereas a clutch is solid material against solid material. This makes them much more prone to wearing out and becoming "worn" and slipping.

how many miles are on the car? Typically on a high mileage b-body, a one wheel peel is an indication that the posi is starting to go. I'm sure someone else won't be far behind to help out with this problem you are having.

·
Registered
4 Posts
I believe he means the clutches in the rear end if I'm not mistaken. I owned a '95 9C1 with a 3.08 limited slip and had the same issues, I tried new fluid with the proper additive and it didn't make much of a difference. I've been told that you can rebuild them.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
"I believe he means the clutches in the rear end if I'm not mistaken" I've been told that you can rebuild them.[/QUOTE]

Correct. Not a biggie for me to pull the entire rear in my shop, however, never rebuilt one and I just hate relying on someone else to do a repair, especially if it isn't a cheap repair. I may just leave it as it is for now since I'm about to start an extensive restoration on a '99 GP GTP (and $ is tight!)

Steve

·
aka IMPALER
3,174 Posts