Impala Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi

A 69 Caprice 4dr with a 350 engine is available in my area and I am considering buying it as a first foray into an older car. Typical story from my rural area. Car was owned by a older original owner who is now passing it along after keeping up regular maintenance all along.

I have little experience with working on cars, but am seeking one for an initial experience.

Are these relatively easy to work on, repair and maintain for a do it yourselfer?

Are parts readily available at reasonable prices?

·
8th Gen Antagonist
13,660 Posts
Parts shouldn't be a big issue. Working with any era of cars will have its own pros and cons, in the case of a 69, things will be pretty straight forward and easy access, but at the same time may be a pain in the ass. They used points for one thing, and points aren't really significant at all anymore, you could learn to work on them on this car and never use that skill again for the rest of your days. In the 70's they brought out HEI, and that was no longer an issue. But, they added lots of vacuum operated doohickeys and stuff that like that will also cause you a headache. Do whats best for you, get the car that makes it all worth it to you.

·
Registered
1,556 Posts
if its a nice 69 buy it 350's arent hard to work on and either is anything chevy besides the new shiiiiiittttt,....... in other words that a good car to stat on as a easy project that anyone can work on:biggrin::eek:

·
Super Moderator
7,057 Posts
It will be a great car to learn about how things work and how to work on them.

You may be able to change the original distributer out for an HEI unit. If so that will make things much easier than dealing with the points and condenser.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks!

Yes, I know, if I am considering a 350 v8, I shouldn't even be asking, but what should I expect in gas mileage? It is said to be the small block 350.

·