Impala Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty new to this and don't know to much about cars but i have a 2003 Chevy Impala with a brand new Battery in it. The other day i went to get coffee and i came out and the car was dead. I jumped it and it started up and was good. Then tonight i was out and when i got back to my car not even 20 minutes later it was dead again. I jumped it and it started up and was good for the rest of the night. Any one know what might be wrong ?

·
Back in Black
4,127 Posts
When you say DEAD, no click from starter, no lights, starter spins no fire?

·
OEM LOL
3,804 Posts
Just gonna go out on a Lim with limited info from the op and bet it's a bad alternator or the new battery wasn't installed right. (the positive or negative is loose)

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The lights come on but the motor doesn't make a sound and I had the alternator checked out and they said it was totally fine

·
Registered
114 Posts
Check all of the wires and grounds! something maybe loose.

·
Back in Black
4,127 Posts
Check connections on battery if good check connections at starter if these are good have battery tested. Sounds like battery is going if your alternator tested good.

·
Mr. Handy
6,289 Posts
But I recently purchased the battery over the summer
This doesn't mean a thing. Batteries can fail at any time :eek:k3:

·
Banned
667 Posts
I'm pretty new to this and don't know to much about cars but i have a 2003 Chevy Impala with a brand new Battery in it. The other day i went to get coffee and i came out and the car was dead. I jumped it and it started up and was good. Then tonight i was out and when i got back to my car not even 20 minutes later it was dead again. I jumped it and it started up and was good for the rest of the night. Any one know what might be wrong ?
huge current leak somewhere or bad alternator.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·