Impala Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
aka IMPALER
3,174 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone I've been contemplating a new hobby as of late and I wanted to get some good car guy opinions about it. It's my first attempt at this so please, comments, criticisms, and complements are all allowed.

This first photoshoot featured two cars, my 1996 Impala SS, and my dad's 1985 Corvette Z51.

These are just a few of the photos so if you'd like to see the rest you are more then welcome to visit my CARDOMAIN page. I'll be shooting and uploading as many as i can so stay tuned if you enjoyed. :eek:k3:

·
Banned
2,492 Posts
I've been getting into the same hobby myself. I like what you've done so far.

Just a couple of pointers for you.

Things "growing" out of the cars are distracting. Such as:

Photo 1: I think it's the antenna out of the front fender, maybe a pole in the background.

Photo 3: Tree in the middle of hood/roof.

Photo 4: The black thing behind the c-pillar, and the building itself, as well as being in the others too.

You kinda of want a neutral or contrasting backdrop that covers the whole background ideally. or just wide open sky up top and whatever you're parked on down below. Large parking lots work well if they have no line painting cause the pavement is very neutral and can fill the entire background. just need to be careful of debris/rocks/trash cluttering up the image. "They" say that grass is frowned upon cause cars are meant to be on pavement, not sure if I agree with that, but that's what I've been told. As far as I'm concerned, as long as it fills the whole background then there's nothing wrong with it to me.

Reflections in the paint can also be a distraction as well. (first and forth image) This is the most difficult thing to get rid of. You def want to keep yourself out of the reflections.

Most of the car mags say to go through them to see what the pro's are using for backdrops, angles etc...