Impala Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
07 SS, drove home one day, next day no start, gear range letters/numbers lit up, no outline box indicating gear selected. Turned key to start, dash went out and headlights dimmed, no starter click.
Jumpered starter relay in fuse box, starter cranked over but wouldn’t start with key on.
I get service brake assist and traction control messages on DIC, plugged in my Matco E123 scanner and get no communication message.
I have to suspect ECU is the problem.
Anyone else had this issue or repair reccomendations?

·
Registered
75 Posts
I would check the grounds near the starter (picture is for reference) v8 are in similar position, wiggle them and have someone on the inside check the scanner , also check the one by the battery to radiator support. I've been chasing an electrical Gremlin for a few months now my next option is to bypass neutral safety switch to see if that's the culprit.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
View attachment 162487 I would check the grounds near the starter (picture is for reference) v8 are in similar position, wiggle them and have someone on the inside check the scanner , also check the one by the battery to radiator support. I've been chasing an electrical Gremlin for a few months now my next option is to bypass neutral safety switch to see if that's the culprit.
Thank you for the reply.
I don’t mean to be rude but, as I mentioned in my post, I jumped the starter relay in the fuse panel and the starter cranked over.
I was thinking neutral start switch as well, but after searching and seemingly reaching the end of the information highway there doesn’t seem to be two people who agree on this

·
Registered
1,082 Posts
Thank you for the reply.
I don’t mean to be rude but, as I mentioned in my post, I jumped the starter relay in the fuse panel and the starter cranked over.